California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
2/23/07, 11:17 am

Legal Question


Contractor job abandonment

We hired a contractor two years ago to build a small house in our backyard. The string of horrors is very long - but my question - after using the front entrance to the property numerous times (even with large pieces of equipment) without comment, he walked off the job when we requested that he use the front instead of the alley entrance due to security concerns. The front is actually closer and has better access (wider gate and no steps). He is also in the habit of arriving and then leaving without notice for hours at a time (leaving the alley gate unlocked) On 2/3 he arrived in a passenger car and was preparing to paint (equipment was already on property) - When we requested that he use the front, he refused - stating that he would not work if he couldn't use the alley entrance - got into his car and left - we have not heard or seen him in nearly a month. Do we have a case for abandonment?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search