California | Construction Law
Legal Question
My husband and I are remodeling our house and entered into a contract with a construction company.
The contract is to provide the drawings for the remodel and submit for permit; provide all follow up services to obtain permit and perform the remodel per specifications contained in print.
The contractor is now unwilling to perform the addition to the stamped blueprint that was obtained through this process. He is stating that since the stamped blueprint was not finalized prior to the contract being signed that he is not bound to perform the remodel to the specifications of the stamped print. He feels he only needs to perform the services that are on the drawings we were using during the negotiation of the contract. The contract was signed in April 2008, but the prints were not finalized until July 2008.
Which would he be bound to?


