California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
6/22/06, 2:04 pm

Legal Question


mechanics lien on my property

We did an extensive remodel half a dozen years ago, including major

landscaping. The landscaper was great conceptually, but slow on the work,

frequently did not return phone calls. We paid all initial bills, then the bills

stopped coming. Work continued on and off for another two years, but no bills,

and no way to check progress due to unresponsive landscaper. A $70,000 bill

came three years after the last bill and a year after work was complete. Then a

lien against the property. What is my next step?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search