California  |  Construction Law

question bubble
1/29/03, 7:19 pm

Legal Question


Mechanics Lien

What are the rules in California for placing a mechanics lien on a clients house for failure to pay for completed services? Specifically, does a contractor have to initiate mediation, arbitration or small claims court first to prove workmanship was acceptable?

Details:

Concete contractor completed work (material and labor), client refuses to pay final payment, because he is dissatisfied with workmanship. However, the contractor firmly believes workmanship is acceptable.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search