California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Retaining Wall Liability
I started construction of a house on a hillside lot back in 1993. Due to limitation of funds available I was forced to stop the project and left the house half-finished. The owner of the adjacent lot uphill decided to sell his lot and found out from the building department that he cannot build on his lot until the retaining wall between the two lots is completed. He claimed that he suffered damage because he cannot get full market value of his lot due to that condition. Am I liable in any way and is there any statue of limitations on these kind of scenarios? After all, the project started seven years ago.


