California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
2/07/03, 3:08 pm

Legal Question


auto body paint repair disaster

My 67 olds cutlass needed a paint job. I took it to a local $300 paint/body shop. That $300 dollar paint job cost me approx. $6000. I did agree to have work done, but had to demand a work estimate-they threw a fit, but eventually gave me a work order. I did not receive a copy until the car was paid in full. Every carbon on work order has different information...I have had to have certain parts of car redone up to three times. The just keep spot painting it and delaying time. It is suppose to have a 5 year warranty, but paperwork says 3. Doesn't amtter anyway, because they aren't honoring the warranty. I had to pay additional money for two of those repairs. The last time I went to shop they gave me a work order which consisted of scribble on the back of a business card. The paint is peeling, the body doesn't line up like it used too, there was a slice left unwelded in the frame that was a result of their cut and weld work. I had it fixed by a third party. They don't return my calls or when I ask, they produce nothing in writing. What can I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search