California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
7/24/02, 9:55 pm

Legal Question


Auto Shipping Disaster

I paid a California company to deliver a car to my home. I was given a 2-3 day transport time, then given six definite delivery dates; the car never showed. After 41 days, a driver called me from 250 miles from my home, told me that his truck had broken down, and I needed to come pick the car up.

After I picked the car up and recovered from the drive, I notified the company (by email) that I was going to dispute the charge to my credit card on the grounds that the service I received was not what was represented to me. They called me within five minutes (laughable considering how difficult it was to get someone to talk to me when they still had my car!!!) and threatened to ''prosecute me for credit card fraud'' Can they take me to court? They have an opportunity to reply to my credit card company and give their side of the story before the fee is charged back.

Any advice would be appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search