California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
9/15/07, 9:16 pm

Legal Question


Bad deal!

I bought a car from this guy. He said it just needed a small part, but it turned out that I had to have the engine rebuilt. Plus while that was happening I had a rental car for about 2 months. So I paid around $1,800 for a rental, and around $4,000 to make the car ''road worthy''. It still had problems but ran well.....I say ran because it was recently stolen from me and at that point in time I only had liability insurance, but thats another issue. When the guy sold me the car he said it just needed one small part, but basically the engine was done for. I also paid him for new shocks, which I didn't get! The problem is that he sold me the car through his ''friends'' car lot. so on record it said it was from the lot and sold ''as-is''. I want to take the man to small claims but I'm not sure if I even have a solid case? Any advice will be a GREAT help! Thank you for taking the time to learn about my rough situation.

-Richie


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search