Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

I used a coin locker at my gym. I came back a day later to retrieve the items and found the lock as well as the contents had been removed. All but 4 of the lockers had their locks removed when I put my items in. The only one of the 4 that was altered was the one I was using. Bright green keys hang out of these things, so its obvious when someone is using it. The gym is switching locks out apparently, there was no sign posted to not use the lockers and now they can't find my bag. They have signs in the locker rooms for the free lockers that they aren't responsible for lost or stolen items, and also you have to use your own lock and don't leave it overnight. But this isn't one of those lockers, I had to pay for this one, it's not even in the locker room, and I have a key. The only way to remove items is to use the key or drill out the lock completely. I feel I should be compensated for the lost items. Do I have legal recourse to get it? Can they use that "not responsible" thing as a blanket to cover this?

Asked on 4/28/13, 9:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kelvin Green The Law Office of Kelvin Green
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Do they admit opening the locker and removing the contents? If they do you can probably at least demand they compensate. You may have recourse in small claims...

Read more
Answered on 4/28/13, 1:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now