California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
I have named "Goldman Sachs" as a defendant party in my federal lawsuit, because two of the "Funds" of Goldman Sachs are owners of another company that is committing torts (even crimes). In the description of the "parties" in my complaint I describe the two "funds" in some detail, but I do not describe "Goldman Sachs" at all. My assumption was the Funds ARE Goldman Sachs, and vice versa. From information on the internet I find that the Funds in question are "primary investment vehicles" for Goldman Sachs & Co. Goldman Sachs & Co. is quite a big company, and it seems their attorneys want to confuse the issues with semantics. However, maybe the court will take their side. What could I do to avoid problems here? The attorneys for the Defense have moved for dismissal of the complaint as to "Goldman Sachs." The allege that the complaint was not specific enough about who or what Goldman Sachs is. Indeed, my process server served "Goldman Sachs," and Goldman Sachs Group responded here. If Goldman Sachs Group is the owner of the funds, and the funds are the owner of the tortfeasor, what could be wrong with this service? Andy suggestions would be helpful. And, yes, I have sought an attorney, but none want to take the case on a contingency basis, which is all I can afford. (But attorney fees are statutorily available to the winner, and I think that punitive damages are quite possible here -- and, yes, I am still looking for an attorney.)


