California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
3/06/03, 10:46 pm

Legal Question


Did I get screwed?

I was in a car accident and hired an attorney, who did nothing at all. I went to pick up my file when I fired him and he asked me to sign a release. I signed a paper titled ''Release of file and Liability'', but upon reading it later I discovered the last sentence to say ''I also acknowledge and understand that the law offics of xxxxxxx have asserted a lien on my case''. What does this mean, I am concerned because the only thing in the file was what I had furnished to him and he had no expences relating to this case. Will he be able to take part of the settlement because of this?

Thank-you

Cara


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search