California  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
7/11/07, 1:51 pm

Legal Question


Washington Mutual - Bank Mistakes

Over the last few months

Washington Mutual has done a few

things that I wonder if it's legal. I

wrote three different checks that

were nice and legible. I had enough

funds to cover it as well. When my

friend and my dad went to cash their

checks they were denied. The

checks were given a comment ''Refer

to Maker'' on them and their banks

fined them $5 for each check. When

I talked with my bank they said

there was a hold on my account at

the time even though they said it

was odd I was still able to use my

debit card those days. They've come

up with no legitimate reason for why

it happened and said there was

nothing they could do to prevent it.

I haven't lost any money, but I

wonder if they didn't breach their

contract.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search