California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Our car was repossessed by the "friend" we bought it from. Original price $1500 we paid $1350 and owed $150. Put $200.00 in new tires and paid the registration for 2009 while in possession of the car. I have been unemployed for 7 months and we were unable to keep up with the original payment plan, but made partial payments which the "friend" accepted (implied acceptance which modifies the contract). Without warning of intent to take the car back, the individual took the car from our driveway 2 nights ago and texted us "your car has been repossessed, have a nice night". Do we have ANY legal recourse in this situation. As you may have guessed the is more to this story. Can you please help us.


