California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Debt consolidation company
My credit cards have gotten out of hand. My friends advised me to consolidate my debts before filing for bankruptcy so I have been looking online for companies. One company has actually contacted me and gave me information. I then checked on the Better Busi Bureau for info. They said that it is illegal for companies to charge any fees before they fulfill their contracts. The companies that I have looked at all require a ''retainer fee.'' Does that count as fees beforehand? How do I find a good company to consolidate my debts? Help!!!


