California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
distressed debt company after my Mom
My Mother had credit card debt (Citibank) when she moved to a rest home, rendering her completely incapable of paying off her debt. Her only sources of income are medicare, medicaid and a small pension, all of which go to the rest home to pay for her care; I believe that California subsidizes the arrangement. A 'distressed debt' has bought the 'charged off' debt from another company (at some point it was purchase from Citibank which had written the debt off). This company is trying to pressure her relatives into paying the debt (now much larger because of several years of interest charges), and threatening to sue her. Our understanding is that we can not be made responsible for her debt. Can you confirm that? My major concern is that they could create problems, hassle and additional cost for our Mother by suing her. In addition, we are concerned that through a law suit that they might be able to attach her pension or other benefits. Any advice that you can provide on this issue would be most appreciated. Thanks, Dennis


