California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Steps after default judgment
We have some questions regarding the process that takes place once a request for entry of default court judgment has been approved by the clerk (on behalf of the plaintiff)?
1) What steps are available to the plaintiff once the default judgment is approved?
2) What is the timeline for the steps?
3) Can plaintiff put lien on asset without defendant appearing in court to disclose assets?
4) Can defendant answer request for examination of assets (by completing forms) in writing rather than personally appearing in court?
5) If an asset is co-owned by others, are the others notified/informed of the lien on the shared asset (if there's no pending sale on the asset)?
6) Can judgment be paid by defendant to the court or the plaintiff prior to having to appear in court to disclose assets?
7) Would plaintiff be open to a negotiated settlement by defendant (in order for plaintiff to get some/most of it paid right away if the other alternative is putting a lien on asset)?
7) If plaintiff requests examination of assets, does defendant have any other options for avoiding court appearance?
8) If defendant has insufficient assets to pay judgment, does plaintiff have any other options for collecting judgment amount?
Thank you.


