California | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Embezzlement or theft?
I am going through a divorce that is almost final. I recently purchased a vehicle (it is considered separate property since it was purchased after the divorce was filed) and I am the only registered owner and my name is the only one on the title. My soon-to-be ex wife has stolen the keys and is using the vehicle and refuses to return the keys. She has been getting parking tickets and running through toll booths without paying. I have contacted the police and they have said they cannot do anything. I also contacted the CHP and they mentioned embezzlement.
Can someone tell me if this is considered embezzlement and if so, how should I proceed? Is this situation considered a crime, and if so, is it serious?
thanks
AFFORDABLE AND AGRRESIVE
Don't call the public defender without speaking with us first!
YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION IS FREE!
Toll Free: 1-877-52-52-9-10
Phone: (213) 612-7720
Available 24/7


