California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
litigation
if suing in federal court, can you apply state versus federal laws in your complaint?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Alden Knisbacher |
Re: litigation Your question is about jurisdiction -- what power does a federal court have. The federal courts have power to decide cases which involve violations of federal law; they also have the power to decide cases in which the amount sued for is over $50,000 (the amount may now be $75,000), and in which the parties being sued are "diverse." Diversity means that none of the defendants lives in the state where the lawsuit is filed. (Diversity is a tricky concept when it comes to determining the home base of a corporation.) If there is jurisdiction -- either through "federal question" (violation of federal law) or "diversity," the federal courts may also decide related violations of state law -- this is called "concurrent jurisdiction." The court is not required to decide these state law violations, but, in most cases will do so. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


