California | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Underage dating
If your parents let you see an older man, can they get in trouble for it?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: MARK GEYER |
Re: Underage dating Hello.
I make the following assumptions from your brief question:
1. You are a child under 18 years of age. 2. You still live "under your parents' roof" and you are not an emancipated minor. 3. Since I assume that you are a minor, I cannot respond specifically to you as you are not old enough to contract.
Assuming that your question is one of generic California law not pertaining to any specifics pertaining to you, I can provide the following information:
A. It is a crime for an adult to have sexual relations and or engage in sexual touching with a minor. No exceptions. consent is not ever a defense to this crime. B. If parents are cooperative and or encouraging such a "relationship" [still a crime]the parents can be charged with a number of crimes that are generally and loosely "contributing to the minor's delinquincy" and could even be successfully charged with consipriacy along with the adult male boyfriend.
To anyone involved in this situation I would recommend that counseling be sought, that the relationship be ceased immediately and that everyone INDEPENDENTLY speak in person with an attorney to be further advised. This is an explosive situation that needs to be stopped and considered for what it is, illegal and unwholesome.
If this was a little preachy, so be it.
Regards,
Mark Geyer, parent and criminal defense lawyer who represents troubled youth very freqeuntly.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


