California | Education Law
Legal Question
Teacher Bully
My son has been harassed all year by his 6th grade teacher. He is very sensitive and she has taken advantage of this characteristic. She yells at him, humiliates him almost daily in front of the class, talks about his race in a negative way (he's white, she's Hispanic), and tells the children sexual stories, just to name a few things. I have talked with the principal several times, to no avail. In fact, everytime I do, my son has to live the wrath of retaliation for the weeks following. Just this week she told the class that he ''lied'' to the principal about her and that his parents are always complaining to the principal. I feel helpless while my son is berated and depressed. He comes home crying frequently. In the Hispanic community (it is a Spanish Immersion school), the teacher can do most anything and get away with it. I am tired of her getting away with the constant harassment and abuse of children--not just my son. What do I do? I have been searching through ed code and other things on the internet trying to find help. I am a teacher myself and know that the things she has done all year are absolutely appalling and are against everything we were taught in teacher training. I need help!


