California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
Booking Agent
If I wanted to start a booking agent company, is there
any license I am required to have besides a business
license? (California)
Booking Agent
If I wanted to start a booking agent company, is there
any license I am required to have besides a business
license? (California)
|
Read More Answered By: Kim Kirby |
Re: Booking Agent Yes. The state of Claifornia requires all agents to be licensed. See the following website: http://www.internet-law-library.com/pdf/Talent.pdf
Good Luck. |
|
Read More Answered By: Erik Hart |
Re: Booking Agent Without much more specific information, it's impossible to give an answer for your specific circumstance. You should contact an attorney experienced in entertainment law and business formation in your area.
Be advised however, Talent Agencies, which your business may very well be considered depending on the services you provide, are specialy regulated in California and other states. In part, The California Labor code states that "No person shall engage in or carry on the occupation of a talent agency without first procuring a [talent agent] license therefor from the Labor Commissioner." The law also requires that talent agents be bonded (A minimum $10,000 Surety Bond may be required) with the State of California.
There are most likely other state, county and city licensing and/or tax requirements you must meet depending on the scope and nature of the business you intend to operate, and the cities/state(s) in which you plan to operate.
I cannot stress enough how important it is for you to retain an experienced attorney to help you through the red tape involved.
|
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
► Does the executive producer own the film? A verbal agreement was made stating my...
► Movie Theaters and Concessions We were not allowed to bring in outside concessions....
► Copyright Infringement I was the producer, director, and editor on a video created...
► Personal management agreement I represent entertainment clients and need a personal...
► First-time Non-Union Voiceover Contract I am providing all voices for a video game,...
► Law re band booking agent and managers I am working with a band management firm, we...
► Standard industry rates Im going into the studio to make a song for my first solo...
More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press