California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
2/16/10, 3:22 pm

Legal Question


An international distributor as made foreign broadcast deal with my film. Due to a breech of contract dispute between my domestic distributor and the foreign distributor, the foreign distributor refuses to pay the license fees owed. I haven't been paid a dime and my film is being broadcast via satellite to 120+ countries with 'unlimited runs'. The film has been broadcast dozens of times and is airing again tonight. All the potential broadcast deals I am being offered are falling out due to the dispute. My DVD sales are dropping due to the continuous broadcasts of my film in these territories. I have been told that if I am ever paid, it would amount to " a few hundred dollars". I have now re-acquired all my rights to the film, except the international broadcast rights, due to this dispute. Why am I being penalized because of a bad third-party deal between my domestic and foreign distributors? I want the money owed, the masters I paid for, and whatever damages are appropriate. How shall I proceed. It's a small film, I'm deeply in debt on it, and I don't know where to turn. Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Regards,

Billy Savage


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search