California | Entertainment Law
1/25/10, 7:01 pm
Legal Question
Do you need the rights to adapt a play to an updated version?
Do you need the rights to adapt a play to an updated version?
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Jefferson |
Yes. You definitely need adaptation rights. |
|
Read More Answered By: Gordon Firemark |
Yes, unless the underlying play is in the public domain. I do lots of theatre law, and have helped many producers with updates of underlying material. I can help you determine whether the play in question is still protected by copyright.
|
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
West Hollywood, CA
Questions Answered: 320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-05
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
► I'm thinking of writing a novel based on copyrighted characters. I am an unpublished...
► I would like to buy DVD rights of a number of U.S. feature movies and animations for...
► At a pageant competition, there is talk that the hosting organization gave two...
► I am making a low-budget documentary and interviewing someone who was a member of...
► I am making a DVD production that will involve footage from the 1980s and an...
► Mr. A owns the rights to a screenplay and he wants to sign the rights over Mr. B...
► In 2007 I attended an open call for a broadway show and I got the job. At the time I...
More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press