California | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
Rights to Adaptation of Short Film to Feature Film
I co-produced and co-directed a short film with the writer of the film. The film won awards and went to many major world film festivals. We have been approached by a major Hollywood production company through a talent agency to adapt the film into a feature. The other co-director and writer of the film claims he owns the rights to this feature film opportunity because what the production company wants to adapt is his writing, not the film. Can you please advise what my rights are on this?


