California  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
3/13/06, 2:43 pm

Legal Question


What is the statute of limitations on trademark claims

I would like to know the statute of limitations on a trademark case.

A brief background: I was part of amusical act and was an equal partner with 4 others - we each had 20%. We were under age at the time we were signed to a major and our parents went to court to have the contract approved by the Superior Court judge.

I left the organization after we had become successful and I unknowingly signed away my rights to the band...I was 15. Unlike the 1st contract, the one where I gave my shares to my bandmates was not approved in court. I did not receive compensation in the form of a buy-out...I flat out gave them my share and the company. They went on to trademark the name several years later. The trademark now has a multi-million dollar value.

I just recently found out that the contract in which I gave up my rights was invalid, as I was a minor. I had been under the false impression that I did not have any rights since I signed this peice of paper.

Because so many years have elapsed, I am wondering if I can make a claim against my former partners for my share of the value of that trademark or has too much time gone by? Any information would be appreciated. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search