California | Family Law
Legal Question
amansipation
im almost 17 years old and pregnant i have continuesly been told that once you become pregnant you are legally amansipated and i wanted to know if this is true.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott Jarvis |
Re: amansipation There are three ways you can become emancipated:
1. You can get married. (This requires parental consent and permission from the court.) 2. You can join the armed forces. (This requires parental consent and acceptance by the service.) 3. You can obtain a declaration of emancipation from a judge.
This information tells you only about how to be declared emancipated by a judge. If you want to be declared emancipated by a judge, you must convince the judge that you meet ALL of the following requirements:
1. You are at least 14 years old. 2. You willingly want to live separate and apart from your parents with the consent or acquiescence of your parents. (Your parents do not object to you living apart from them.) 3. You can manage your own finances. 4. You have a source of income that does not come from any illegal activity. 5. Emancipation would not be contrary to your best interests; it is good for you.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


