California  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/02/02, 10:20 pm

Legal Question


Changing my sons last name.

When my son was born my ex-girlfriend put her last name on the birth certificate. I went to court and now have sole legal and physical custody. She for the past 5 years has had court supervised visits of which she has only seen him twice. In the past 2.5 years she has only called a maximum of 3 times. I have been using my last name at school since he started school. He is now 10 years old and I would like to change it legally. What are my options/ chances of getting his last name changed. Also will I need an attorney or will it be easy for me to do it myself.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search