California | Family Law
Legal Question
me and my exhusband have joint custody, i would like to move out of the state with my son, and he lives with me currently...what do i do if my exhusband will not give his permission?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Erin Levine |
You will have to file an Order to Show Cause or Motion requesting "move-away" with the Superior Court. If your ex-husband does not agree to the move-away, this issue can become really complicated (especially since you share joint custody). There is some more information I would need to know before providing legal advice such as (a) whether this is a pre or post judgment action; (b) whether one parent has primary physical custody; and (c) whether your current custodial order is a product of a stipulation (agreement) or a reasoned decision from the Judge after court hearing or trial. While there is no absolute or inherent right to relocate, you may request a move-away order. You will want to discuss the individual facts and circumstance of your case with a Family Law attorney to determine the strategy to employ when requesting a move-away order. Best of Luck! |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


