Legal Question in Family Law in California

I found out through an internet search that my brother had died in 2006 of prostate cancer. My sister had my phone number and my email address has been the same since 2003, but I was never notified. Upon receipt of his death certificate which showed cause of death, I immediately went to my doctor for testing, and, lo and behold, I also have prostate cancer. Had I been aware of his demise 7 years ago, I may very well have caught this disease much earlier. My question is, what legal responsibility does my sister have to notify me, and can I sue for emotional distress?

Asked on 8/29/13, 11:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

None. No.

Read more
Answered on 8/29/13, 11:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now