California  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/15/02, 4:56 am

Legal Question


Using a Joint Personal Loan to Pay Bills During Divorce Process

We have a joint ''personal line of credit'' that can be

used for any purpose (overdraft,etc.). It hasn't been

used since my husband abandoned us on 1/1/02. (I

filed on 1/15/02.) Payments have been made directly

from his paycheck twice a month since to present.

There is about $700.00 available credit on this loan to

date. In the meantime, he has left me with the majority

of the bills and the $$ is not enough to cover all the

bills. Can I legally use the $700.00 to pay our joint bills

(utilities that are now late, etc.)? What are the legal

ramifications of this action? I do realize the loan is

community property. How would this be handled when

this bill is divided between us later on? I see this as

reallocating the joint money/bill. the only difference is

that the loan has interest and the uitilities, etc. do not.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search