California | Family Law
Legal Question
Property owned prior to the Marriage
I owned a piece of property before my marriage. We never lived in the home and there was a renter in the property who was paying for the full mortgage. When the renter moved there was about 20 months that I had to pay the mortgage of 653 per month. My husband is wanting to get the equity out of this house which is in my sole and seperate name. Is he entitled to the equity during this time or 1/2 of the payments that had to be made while the home was vacant? He is claiming that he is entitled to 1/2 of the equity from the time we were marriage to the time of seperation. Which is 4 years and 8 months. What am I required to pay him half of the equity or 1/2 of the payments made.


