California  |  Family Law

question bubble
1/18/10, 12:00 pm

Legal Question


I received an order to attend a deposition. The date was a month from the time i received the letter. I arrived to the location on time and the lawyer who sent the letter to me, who represents my ex-wife did not show up. I called, left a note at the office and also got a business card from a company who shares the same building as the lawyers office who represents my ex wife. This was proof that i arrived on time. A few hours later I received a phone call from my ex-wifes lawyer stating she tried to call me the night before to confirm I was going to be there. Since I did not return her call and confirm i was attending the deposition she asusmed I was not attending. Nothing in the deposition letter states that there needed to be a confirmation call. I cant afford to take another day off of work bewteen now and our court date which is in 7 days. Do I have to make time to reschedule or can i go to court on my court date and explain that they failed to arrive at the date on the deposition request?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search