California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Accident
I was in an auto accident where the insurance company is attempting to place me at fault. I filed the answer and cross-complaint and now the insurance company has sent me a demurrer in regard to my counter-suit. The insurance co. is claiming that the registered owner was driving the car which is false and I have proof of this fact. I also have numerous witnesses to testify that it was the driver who was actually at fault. I have a legitimate case, yet the demurrer states I haven't shown sufficient evidence for my case. Is there some way to answer a demurrer to substantiate my claim? Also, I was given the advice to file an ammended countersuit which should change my case to an unlimited civil suit and to sue for damages according to proof, punitive and compensatory damages as well a libel, but I don't know which forms to use to do this so I'm just using the forms I can find which seem to serve this purpose, but I don't want to do it the wrong way.


