California | Civil Litigation
8/03/09, 5:25 am
Legal Question
im being counterd sued i dont have any property in my name my husband does can they go after his home
im being counterd sued i dont have any property in my name my husband does can they go after his home
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
It depends on whether the debt being sued upon is considered a community debt, that is, responsible for by both husband and wife. In California, generally debts that are incurred during marriage that are "necessaries of life" for either spouse are community debts. Debts incurred prior to marriage are separate debts. You say it's "his home", but are you it's his separate property or is it community property? If the home is community property, they can always go after it after obtaining a judgment against you. If it's separate property and they go after it post-judgment, your husband could attempt to challenge it on the basis it was not a community debt if it appears that the debt was something only for your benefit (a "separate debt"). Consult an attorney.
|
|
Read More Answered By: OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES |
Yes, please answer if you had not already, Contact me directly. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► How do i ask my lawyer to release my trust account?
► Can a non Attorney represent their Spouse in unlimited civil State court in Ca. with...
► Can a Spouse represent the other in an unlimited civil case in State Court? If so...
► Ok if i had a accident when i was kid and i had a accident and i had to get or had a...
► If there is a lein placed on your real property if you do not own property does this...
► Can you sue an individual person of a nonprofit organization or do you have to sue...
► I have been in a relationship with a man for the past 16 years. We live in his house...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press