California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
12/23/02, 6:26 pm

Legal Question


Can I fight this claim of ''breach of contract''?

Approximately two years ago I signed a promissory note in the amount of $18,000.00 to try and help an ex-employer recover some money he felt I was partly responsible for him losing through bad consignment accounts I had authorized. I signed this via mail with no witness. I partially signed to get him to stop harrasing me and because I felt sorry for him. I received no goods, money or services, and when I realized there was no way I could help him out. I stopped paying him. He has now sued me and has inflated the price with interest and attorneys fees. Do I stand a chance ?

David in San Francisco


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search