California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Legal Resposibility
My Daughter, who is 21 was driving her
boyfriends
truck while intoxicated and crashed into
a house causing damage to the house.
She has no job or assets. Her boyfriend
has no car insurance, My question is
can I be held legally liable for the
damage to the house she damaged?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Lynes |
Re: Legal Resposibility Highly unlikely. Since she is a legal adult and was not driving your car, there is really no viable legal theory against you. Parents are not vicariously liable for their children’s wrongdoing. Instead parental liability typically stems from negligent entrustment (i.e. allowing a minor child to drive given a history of bad driving or inexperience) or negligent supervision. Given the age of your daughter, unless there is some highly usual special relationship which would create a continuing obligation to monitor and control her activity, you should not be held responsible.
If you daughter is included on your auto liability insurance, your insurance may be responsible for the some of damages.
If you would like further assistance in regards to this matter, please feel free to contact our office for a consultation.
[The statements and opinions provided above are an informational service to the general public. Since this reply is based upon an incomplete description of facts, this email should not used as a substitute for legal advice from a qualified and fully-informed attorney. Moreover, these communications are intended for use by the public. As such, this email does not constitute a confidential communication nor does it create an attorney-client relationship with Lynes & Associates or any of its members.]
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


