California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/17/05, 3:35 pm

Legal Question


mal-practice attorney

I hired an atty for an upcoming trial. She waited until two weeks before the trial before she called me. When I went to her office, I could tell she had not even looked at the case. One day before the trial, she called me to come in. She knew nothing of the case. She had written a 1/2 page brief. At the trial I could tell she had no experience, she didn't object to evidence and everything went in without objection. I told her that I felt she wasn't competent to take the case to trial, but she would not move the Court to be allowed to leave so that I could find someone else. On the weekend before the trial, she took my retainer, bought herself a BMW and went off to get married. On Monday when the trial started, she came without my files. I asked her to subpoena witnesses or offered to do it myself. She refused my offer stating she would do it and then didn't. She seemed cavalier about the situation, and I told her that this was a major case and that she should return my retainer so that I could hire someone else and that if I lost as a result of her incompetence, she would responsible. She would not leave the case and I lost, a $165000 judgment. What should I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search