California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Personal property in the workplace post termination
I was terminated by my company and given the afternoon to empty out my office. My office contained all of my own furniture (desk, credenza and chairs). I was able to pack all of my books and boxable personal items, but was not able to move any of my furniture. The company was well aware that I had my own furniture. When I was able to return with a truck and some help, the cushion from my armchair had been stolen or misplaced. This event clearly occurred after I was instructed to vacate the building. The chair was 7 years old and cost $1,000 new. The pattern is discontinued and the chair and ottoman cost $1,000 to reupholster. I am asking the Company to reimburse me for 50% of the cost. They have refused. I am considering going to small claims court. Thus my question. Does my company have some responsibilty for the damage to my furniture in this situation? and does the age of the chair affect the amount of the claim?
Thank you


