California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
7/03/08, 12:39 pm

Legal Question


Pitbulls attack and dog and child

Two pitbulls jumped over a fence and attacked a dog being walked on a leash by its teenage owner. The dog died of its injuries. The teenager was bitten when trying to protect her dog. We've talked to the dog owners and they say they have no money to pay for the vet bill. I plan to sue them in small claims court for the vet bill, but what are the laws regarding their dogs? There are witnesses who say this is not the first time their dogs have attacked others. I don't know if they've ever been taken into the dog pound or not. Should I contact the police or animal control? I'm not sure what to do. I don't want those dogs to hurt anyone else. Should I file a police report, and contact animal control or ?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search