California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
5/17/05, 11:15 am

Legal Question


reversed decision

I am a plaintiff in pro per.

A defendant in my case refuses to obey a single court order, attend

hearings or participate in discovery.

When they wouldn't answer interrogatories , I filed a motion to

compel and asked for monetary sanctions. They of course did not

answer nor pay up.

Then I had an OSC hearing for contempt. They did not appear. The

court signed an order for contempt and ordered them to be

arrested until they cooperate.

Unfortunately it does no real good to file for default (just yet). They

have important information and went into deep hiding after they

answered my complaint.

Today I went to court to request the previous order be enforced.

Instead I found the judge was ill (he won't be back) and a tempory

judge in his place. The new judge reversed the previous judge's

order for contempt. He said the defendant ''has the right to not

participate in discovery'' , ignoring that parties have rights TO

discovery. He said monetary sanctions were the only sanction for

not answering interrogatories. Told me he had made his decision

and didn't want arguments.

Trial is Oct. How do I appeal or what should I do? Can you go to

appeals before trial?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search