California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Settlement Agreement
I entered into a settlement agreement to settle a lawsuit filed against me regarding a real estate transaction involving my home. The settlement is to be paid the end of November 2002. If it's not paid by that date, the plaintiffs will have a judgment against me. There is no way I will have the settlement amount by the end of November, and was wondering if it would be best to just let the judgment sit there until I can pay it (which should be no later than February 2003) or if I should file bankruptcy in order to stay any proceedings the plaintiffs could commence to satisfy the judgment?
Thanks for your help!


