Legal Question in Health Care Law in California

Can I sue for HIPPA violation? I reently had an appointment at a county clinic, when I asked for a not stating I had been there, the nurse refused and told me that the paper she had already given me (that had my nr#, diagnosis, and drs orders o it) was good enough. I told her she was violating my HIPPA rights and asked her again for a note and she said the dr was busy and sent me out of the office.

I am currently training to work in the medical field, my instructor, who is a licensed physician, told me I can sue,butI want to be sure.

Asked on 4/25/13, 3:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. HIPPA has specifically been interpreted by the courts as providing NO private right of action.

Read more
Answered on 4/25/13, 3:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Health Care Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Health Care Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now