California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Citizen Married To Illegal Alien
I married an illegal alien from Mexico on December of 2001. In Feb. of '02 we submitted I-130. On Oct. of '02 we resubmitted them after correcting them. Basically we want to know how long it will take for him to obtain a change of status (after I-130 approved and I-485 submitted). We have heard that he has priority because he is married to me a citizen (I was born here in CA). We have also heard that the 245i will no longer protect him. Also that he might have to wait outside country for period between 3-10 years, but that there is a waiver that might allow him to wait here while his status is changed. We do not know what to expect or what to do other than wait. I know patience is necessary. Also, can he obtain a work permit while he waits??


