Re: Green Card Based on Employment
If your friend had a petition for permanent residence or a labor certification filed for her or one of her parents when she was under 21 prior to April 30, 2001 and she was here on December 20, 2000, then she is eligible to adjust status in the U.S. and her employer could file a labor certification toward that end. Currently it takes an unknown amount of time to process such cases because visas are unavailable for all such people who have filed. October 1, numbers will likely again be available, possibly for those who filed around 2005, but one can't be sure about that right now. There is a possibility of employer sanctions against the current employer of an undocumented person, so the employer must understand that risk, even though it is small. And the person must also understand that removal from the U.S. might also be possible, again, though quite unlikely - at least at this time. Enforcement policies do change though and what's not a problem today could become one in the future and vice versa, what's a problem today might not be so in the future.
If she didn't have a petition or labor certification filed for her or a parent when she was under 21 and before April 30, as mentioned above, then she would not be eligible to adjust status in the U.S. unless she arrived legally and has an immediate relative who is a U.S. citizen (child over 21 or a spouse). In that case, she wouldn't have to file based on employment. If she were to pursue a case through her employer in this situation, she'd have to leave the U.S. to get an immigrant visa issued to her and by so doing, trigger the unlawful presence bar which means she couldn't return for 10 years (assuming no other immigration violations or problems), without a waiver being approved first. The waiver only applies when there is extreme hardship to a close family relative who is a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
I would be happy to help you out if you contact me offline. Check me out at http://www.yardum-hunter.com, fill out a consultation request there at http://www.yardum-hunter.com/Main/Consultation.asp or email me at alice@yardum-hunter.com. Until then, please don't rely on this as legal advice.
Alice M. Yardum-Hunter, Attorney at Law, Certified Specialist, Immigration & Nationality Law, State Bar of CA, Bd. of Legal Specialization
ST: 15915 Ventura Blvd., Penthouse #1, Encino, CA 91436
EM: alice@yardum-hunter.com WEB: http://www.yardum-hunter.com
A “Super Lawyer” 2004 – 2009, Los Angeles Magazine