California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Hello Lawguru,
I have my I-140 approved(PD-Aug2008) & my H1b is valid till Aug 2012 but expired visa---I need to go out of the country for more than an year. Can you please answer my following questions/concerns?
1. Can I file for I-485 from outside the US if my PD becomes current while I am outside? If yes, what all the ways can I do that?
2. If I get my H1B visa stamped now (in Mexico or Canada) before I leave US for one year, would I be able to enter into US after 1 year and apply for my I-485 once my PD becomes current.
3. What are the options for my wife (she is a dependent on my GC application) if she is outside the US? Does she have to be in US when we will be applying for I-485 (in case if I have no option to apply for from outside the US for I-485 and come back to US) or can she remain outside the US as the principal applicant (myself) is in the US.
Thanks a bunch for your time and help.
kanth


