California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/25/08, 5:36 am

Legal Question


Marriage to undocumented immigrant

I plan on marrying my girlfriend who came from El Salvador three years ago without any papers(no visa). Is it wise to marry and not turn in any documentation to Immigration? Could I get into legal trouble if I do not report our marriage to Immigration? Note, I am a U.S. citizen born in California. If I do try to process my girlfriend's paperwork after being married will she be deported right away? Is there any sort of an appeal process without her having to go back to El Salvador for 10 years? Could we just marry and wait and see if there will be any sort of immigrant law change? What are my options? I was told when we do get married my girlfreind would be issued a PIN, what is that for? My girlfriends parents are here legally, they have a TPS permit. My girlfriend's grandparents have permanent U.S. residency.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search