California  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
4/11/10, 7:30 pm

Legal Question


I was in an auto accident 6 mos. ago. She was at fault, then she said I was at fault. I don't have collision coverage for my car so I paid the repair fees/rental car. She submitted a claim and in the end it went to arbitration. I won. Her insurance company has refused to reimburse me for my damages because in the arbitration submitted by my company, they didn't ask for payment since they didn't pay for anything. I've filed for small claims court (damages were $2000) but the woman who hit me has said she is filing for bankruptcy. Why wouldn't the insurance company pay the damages (as they lost in arbitration)? What happens if I win in small claims, but she files bankruptcy? Does her company have to pay after that or do I not get anything?


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search