California | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Deny homeowners insurance for having a wall heating system?
I recently bought a home and obtained my own homeowners insurance--name removed--close of escrow. Within 2 weeks of the close of escrow there were 2 windstorms which blew off (only from 1 panel of my roof) many composition roof shingles onto my and my neighbor's yards. My friends recommended I submit a claim. Now my insurance not only denied my claim, but gave me 10 days to find another insurance claiming that my house is not "earthquake retrofitted" (which according to my home inspection, it was) and I have a wall heating system and not "forced air or electrical radiant heat in celing". They also claim "roof is worn and in need of replacement". I didn't purchase earthquake insurance through them, and can they turn me down for not having forced heat or is their way out of paying my claim?
Experienced California Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.


