California  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
6/05/06, 8:10 pm

Legal Question


Homeowner liability due to a friends injury (accident off of a boat)

My husband was on a friends boat for a weekend away with three other guys and while playing around on the boat, my husband pushed one of the guys off of the boat. He landed on his ankle in a wierd way and four days after returning home, he went in to have it ex-rayed. It is broken, he has had to have surgery and he is in a cast. He cannot drive for eight weeks, but he is working and has not missed any time off. He does have medical insurance through his employer, but has a $1000.00 dollar deductible and pays 20% of costs. They would like us to file a homeowners claim for this...they are talking about things like pain and suffering and the fact that he might never play recreational hockey again (he is 49 years old and is in a league) The question is, it was an accident. Are we liable for this and to what extent. We prefer not to have a claim on our homeowners insurance and do not know what the insurance company would be liable for on our behalf. His insurance company is paying and they reported it as an accident, but because my husband did the actual push off of the boat...we are wondering what are legal responsibility would be. Thank you.


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search