California  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
9/30/09, 5:09 pm

Legal Question


If a real estate broker has a company that is a sole proprietership, and employs a real estate agent as an independent contractor (adding the agent to his E&O insurance policy), what other type of coverage should the real estate agent have in terms of insurance to eliminate liability?

Does the broker need to have workers' compensation insurance?

Does the agent need to add the broker to his/her automobile insurance?

As an independent contractor, if the real estate agent was sued by a third party (and if the claim did not fall under the E&O insurance), could the third party go after the agent's personal assets (ie house, car, investments, etc)?


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search